Busy

Things have been busy trying to settle into a new house, new neighborhood, new job for Dani.  Busy is good.

The wedding is coming up fast and I keep thinking that there are a million things that need to be planned but then really can’t think of anything.  Maybe this is me procrastinating.  Dani is taking care of some big tasks for the wedding this week so that is great!

Me, I much prefer planning vacations. As such I have started planning our European honeymoon.  This will include me running the Amsterdam Marathon.  The thought of another 42.2KM run scares me right now.  Instead I will focus on the vacation part.  The first step has been taken and I successfully booked a hotel on Priceline.  I successfully booked Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre.  I believe I got a smokin’ deal but I find with Priceline sometimes the excitement of winning an unknown hotel can be disappointing.

First, I want everyone I know to confirm that I did in fact get a great deal.  Second, I want to make sure that the hotel has AWESOME reviews so that I feel even better about my deal.  I was pleasantly surprised when I read on TripAdvisor that it was ranked #13 out of 339 hotels.

So the first step is done. We know where we are going first.  Now I am trying to decide on our route to Austria as we want to visit Innsbruk, Salzburg and Vienna.  Right now I am leaning towards a train to Munich and then staying there for a couple of days before we head into Austria.  I think that I will start religiously reading travel blogs now….

2 thoughts on “Busy”

  1. Oh Austria, how I loved it there! I was a nanny in Austria for 8 months and got to travel on my days off.

    Favorites:
    Vienna
    -If you want to catch an opera at the staatsoper, you can wait outside the rear doors (you have to get there about 3 hours in advance), and you can get the standing room tickets (you still have the translators and everything), for about $10. Seriously.
    -the best shopping in Vienna is on Maria Hilfer Strasse, there’s the adorable kitchen store (I seem to remember it’s really close to Sex World?) where I got the loveliest things and I wish I could import that store into my life here.
    -you can hop on the trolly that goes around the ring road for free (well, you’re SUPPOSED to pay for it) instead of taking a tour – just hop off and on when you see things you want to check out
    -all the guys dressed like Mozart are hilarious
    -Schonbrunn palace is beautiful, UN headquarters is cool to see, and the Vienna zoo has an amazing rain forest house

    Salzburg
    -Palace of Mirabell and Mirabell Gardens (houses the fountain from Do-Re-Mi song from the Sound of Music!)
    -the giant chess boards in the centre of town! I could have sat and watched the old men play for hours…. (ithey’re just outside the square with the Mozart monument I think)
    -Hellbrun: on the grounds of this castle is the gazebo from the Sound of Music. (I think…it WAS 10 years ago).
    -salt mines, or just crazy salt shops. They have all different kinds of salt mixtures. I kind of wish I had taken a tour…not sure if it would have been worth it. 🙂

    Mauthausen:
    -not a FUN place to go, but if you’re going to be taking the train through Austria, a great historical – and very moving stop – is the concentration camp Mauthausen. It is accessible from Vienna, Salzburg or Linz by taking a train to St. Valentin, from there by regional train to Mauthausen station.

    That’s all I can remember right now. If I think of anything else outstanding I’ll let you know!

    Have fuuun!

Leave a Reply

