Where has the year gone

I can not believe it is December 13! I have no clue where the time has gone again and the idea of trying to get anything done before Christmas seems near impossible. So, I might not even try.

Instead I am going to start my list of goals for 2012. Why? Because I am 100% goal orientated and need to set some new ones with a built in time limit – 1 year.

Health

  • This year so far, I have logged 1200 kilometres running on my Garmin.  Goal for 2012 is to log 2000 running kilometres.
  • New activity.  Running is great but I think that I need to find something to supplement it.  I am debating between Bikram Yoga and starting to cycle more seriously.
  • Decrease/maintain body fat percentage.  At last reading, my body fat percentage was at 18% which is consider “athlete” level.  I think since vacation that this might have changed so I want to get to and/or maintain 18%

Home

  • I want to have a garden this year. I am already thinking about where I want my raised flower beds to grow vegetables.
  • I want to finally hang some photos.  Now I know, this sounds like easy stuff.  But I really want to finally make the home seem homey.  Photos to me are the first step.
  • I want to get back in the routine of making more of my own food.  I use to make nearly everything in my house from scratch.  Instead of granola bars, I would have bags of oats, agave syrup and flax seed to make my own.  I want to get more into this habit (as Dani allows it)

Heart

  • I have been trying to practice gratitude.  Each day I am trying to remember and acknowledge one thing that I am grateful for.  I want to make this an essential part of my day.
  • I am going to make a better effort to stay in touch with my friends that don’t live in Calgary.  This will mean getting over my fear of the phone and calling people. This is quite a big deal. I *hate* talking on the phone.
  • I am going to spend more time reading.  I really miss reading. It warms my heart and brings me joy.  Since I also thrive with metrics, I am going to say that I would like to read 20 books this year. (this isn’t a lot really – I have a friend whose goal is to read 52)

So that rounds it out. Now I have written it down. So it shall be. Bring on 2012!

2 thoughts on “Where has the year gone”

  1. Jen could you possibly do more.. I do like the idea of granola bars and can’t wait to do the QC for you, ok well maybe just the eating of said bars. You never said anything about the slippers and mittens you are going to start knitting… Gabriola here you come!. Pictures and books are not just for decoration?? Phone….. i’ll be calling to see how you’re doing on the fear of talking. Happy Day! ❤

  2. Jen, I don’t know if you’re a big music listener when you run (I can’t listen to music, I end up timing myself – “there’s 3 1/2 minutes gone” after each song), but you could kill two birds with one stone if you got into audiobooks! I LOVE listening to them when I run. I get so caught up in the book that I don’t realize how long I’ve been running (well, within reason). Something to think about?

Leave a Reply

